There’s not a lot Carl doesn’t know about dairy farming. Indeed, he’s been doing it for as long as he can remember.

Having grown up on a farm in Long Mountain, towards the border of Wales, Carl has worked in the industry from a young age, and he doesn’t plan to change career any time soon.

“I’ve always been in dairy and always enjoyed milking,” he said.

“I like to see the cows in a good condition and ensure that everything is running right. This is my career and the aim for the future is to eventually get my own farm or smallholding.”

Though he started with Sansaw in January, it’s not the first experience he’s had here.

“I worked here about six years ago to help out with milking and calving. I like it here as there’s a good team and you can come in and you know what you’re doing, and it’s a good place to work. Everyone’s really friendly and there’s something different every day especially with how the cows can behave some days!

“The long hours we’re doing at the moment can be tough going though. That’s where the team we’ve got really helps. The other day I was really tired and one of the guys came across and had a laugh and perked me right up which then kept me going for the rest of the day.”

When not at work, Carl is still involved with farming, as he’s part of the Rea Valley Young Farmers Association.

“I’ve learned a lot in Young Farmers, which I’ve been involved with for just over eight years. Despite what some people think, it’s not just all drinking! We take part in sports competitions, speaking competitions, drama, farm tours and talks and club socials.

“I’ve got a great group of friends thanks to Young Farmers, so it’s nice to have lots of people around you especially when you’re out in the sticks.”

Even growing up in the sticks, Carl was rarely on his own.

“At any one time there would be ten of us in the house. My dad’s also got a big family in Wales, so whenever we get the chance to have family gatherings, it’s a giant party of people.”

At home, Carl enjoys spending what time he can with his girlfriend, who’s a veterinary nurse.

“We’re both really busy, so whenever we do get to see each other, it’s usually just to sleep! In the house thanks to work schedules, we’re just passing each other by at the moment, though we do go out for walks with the dogs – we’ve got a springer spaniel and a cocker-cross terrier. The springer spaniel is nuts and won’t sit still, but I wouldn’t have her any other way.”